Much has been said and written about the “narrative element” in Dmitri Shostakovich’s music. His music has a special expressivity, both in rhythmical and in tonal terms, and therefore it often gives the listener the impression of hearing a story. With the Chamber Symphony Op. 110a – an arrangement of Shostakovich’s String Quartet No. 8 Op. 110 in C-Minor – Camerata Armonia performs a work containing both the expressive element and the intimate sound of a string quartet. Apart from its technical demands, which the work doubtlessly makes and which must be mastered, it also exemplifies an ideal sound, requiring special transparency in the individual voices. In the following, we offer you an audio impression of this work.

D. Shostakovich Chamber Symphony for String Orchestra Op. 110a

I. Largo


II. Allegretto Molto

III. Allegretto


IV. Largo

V. Largo